Question 9.2.4 or 7.2.6 Speaker Setup?

MartinGibraltar

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am a newbie to this forum. I have a 10-seat home cinema setup as follows

Screen – Steward CineW 130” screen
Projector – JVC DLA-RS65E
Panamorph UH480 Anamorphic lens
Front, centre and left speakers – B&W CT7.3
6 x Surround speakers – B&W CWM7.4
2 x Subwoofers – B&W CTSW15
Processor – Rotel RSP-1572
Amplifiers – Rotel RMB-1565; Rotel RMB-1575; B&W SA1000 (for subwoofers)
Blu Ray player - Oppo BDP-93EU
Apple TV4K

Because the cinema has two rows of 5 seats, I set it up so that each row has a middle speaker adjacent to it. Because a 9.2 format did not exist at the time of creating the system, the two middle speakers on each side share the same output from the processor.

The system has been absolutely amazing but I am now looking to upgrade to a Dolby Atmos/DTS-X setup. This means that I will swap out the Rotel RSP-1572 for the Marantz AV8805, the projector to a JVC DLA-NX7 and the Blu Ray player to a Panasonic DB-UB9000.

I will then add some B&W CCM663 ceiling speakers to handle the Dolby Atmos and an additional amp, either another RMB-1565 if I can source one or the new RMB-1555. That might be a better choice anyhow than buying an obsolete model.