Question Anyone here using US Netflix with a Shield TV?

JonnyTester

Prominent Member
Reaction score
I have a subscription to SmartDNS Proxy and had been using it with my shield TV for US netflix for a while with no problems. But a couple of months ago netflix started getting blocking me. I have my linksys router setup with their dns settings and I can get US netflix on both of my pc's. The guys at SmartDNS Proxy say I have everything setup correctly. But I've a feeling netflix has gotten wise to their dns settings.

Are any of you using a shield for US netflix? If so, how are you doing it?

If your PCs are able to access US Netflix then your problem lies somewhere other than your router settings.

It's illegal to stream US Netflix outside of US. Netflix obviously caught up with this.

It's illegal to stream US Netflix outside of US. Netflix obviously caught up with this.

What you mean is that Netflix now georestricts its members accounts to the country they are currently watching in. This is made clear in its terms and conditions. If you are caught bypassing this restriction they can permanently ban you. It is, however, not illegal.

VIPDNSCLUB still works for me on my Nvidia Shield box & allows me to watch Netflix USA in UK. Its one of the very few (or only?) smart dns services who can somehow bypass Netflix geo restrictions, and its been that way for quite a while. You may need to block Google DNS (8.8.8.8 & 8.8.4.4) on your router to get the service working, which is quite easy. On the downside, they're not cheap at around $10 per month, but they offer almost instant email support (Oz based) and are great if you have issues.

VIPDNSCLUB

Netflix have indeed become stricter. I use NordVPN, it used to connect no problems at first attempt but as of late, i have been getting blocked so After 5-10 attempts of syphoning for a server, it finally connects.