Question Best method of playing video files from HDD to TV

graymattor

Standard Member
Reaction score
Hi,

First of all i just want to say i am very new to all this sort of thing! recently I purchased a 4k TV (Samsung Q85R) and also an AVR Denon X3600H, plus speakers for 5.1, to upgrade to Atomos in the future, what an absolute adventure i appear to still be on!!

At the moment I stream everything, I watch no live TV, most of what i watch is though Plex (Elysium) then other content is through the likes of iPlayer.

I have some and growing 4k/UHD/HDR content on a stand-alone HDD, now i have set up my home PC as a plex server all set up to run local, not streaming and using the plex app on my TV or Plex app on Firestick (connected straight into the AVR which seems to be working better) and that works OK but i am having some quality issues (some times the picture appears grainy in the background) and some buffering, which is a pain, i do have access to 4k streaming through Elysium but my internet is nowhere near fast enough so i cannot stream it.

I guess what i am asking is what is my best and cost-effective way of viewing these video files on my TV?

Plugging the HDD direct into the TV works occasionally but i guess only if all the requirements align, i have also tried an OTG connector into the 4K fire stick but it doesn't appear to mount correctly

The plex route is the nicest and cleanest if I can get it to work, maybe it's my home PC that not good/fast enough or the portable HDD is not fast enough, unfortunately, i don't know enough about these things hence asking you guys the experts ;-)

Any thoughts about what my best route would be? i don't mind buying new equipment (within reason of course) but i don't really want to have to keep moving equipment around and disturbing thing, like the portable HDD, it was a pain unplugging and then moving up to my PC to transfer files to then plugin again!

Looking forward to hearing your thoughts and ideas.