Question Black Widow: Aluminium Composite vs. Wall

DenysK76

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

Just about to start building the screen and I have a dilemma:

1. paint on the wall:
+ can adjust the picture size 2.5-5m width
- not very smooth surface, possible some grains.

2. pain on the Aluminium Composite Sheet.
+ looks better, looks like a real screen with black borders
+ very smooth
- limited size, found only 3m width max

Any thought?

Thanks.

3m is pretty big. If it was me I'd prefer a smaller, high quality surface over a larger, rougher/more amateurish-looking one.

I'm no expert but a 5m wide screen would mean a hight of over 2.5m , ceiling heights are usually 2.4 , do you have a very high ceiling that would allow a screen width as much as 5m also considering the centre speaker position .

Ceiling is 2.7m, so I can make it 2.5 high, but I end up with 3.05x1.5m screen as this is the max size for aluminium board. Waiting for delivery of 3xA3 board to start testing the colour :)

A 5m screen does sound epic , trying to think what you could use but can't think of anything , I think even if there was a board that size it would be imposable to get it in the house ,

How far from the screen would you be seated , is the cost of a proper screen that size to expensive

The dilemma is Aluminium Composite Sheet vs. the wall (I can get builder to polish it :) )
There are flexibility of the wall vs. good looking screen. Still haven't decided yet. The wall size: 5.5m width x 2.7m height.

How far from the screen would you be seated , is the cost of a proper screen that size to expensive

The sofa is 4-4.5m from the screen, I'm making black widow screen so the cost is £110 for the ACS + €100 for making it look like a screen, so not too bad.

So really its quality of the composite aluminium sheet (the surface) vs. wall, I'm sure you can't have a wall polished as good as the ACS, can you?