Desperate Dad Needs Help - Two Xboxes Nightmare

Attirex

Standard Member
Reaction score
Hi, Everyone:

I consider myself to be fairly tech savvy (I work in software), but as usual, leave it to MS to make me want to poke my eye out with a pen.

Anyway, I bought my kids a second XBox for Xmas, so:

1. We now have two XBoxes on the same WiFi network, a One S in the living room, and the new One X in the family room.

2. Both are set as home XBoxes.

3. I have two XBox Live accounts configured in an XBox Live Family group, both as adults. My son uses one (which is actually mine), my daughter the other.

4. I have an Ultimate subscription.

For whatever reason, this setup is causing a nightmare of authentication conflicts when both kids are logged in and playing on both XBoxes, and my daughter tries to launch Game Pass games. My Ultimate subscription is apparently linked only to my/my son's account, and isn't shared with my daughter's account, even though her account is part of the same family group.

What am I doing wrong, and how can I fix? Can Ultimate not be shared this way? Do I seriously have to buy an Ultimate sub for each XBox?

The crux of the problem is that if my daughter tries to play a Game Pass game like Rocket League while signed onto the One S with her account, it prompts for Gamer Pass sub. If she does the same and plays Rocket League on the One X with her account, it does not ask for a subscription. Something in her account is tied to the One X.

For the sanity of my marriage and relationship with kids, any help appreciated. :)

Thanks so much!
AF

Last edited:
OK, so after testing a bit, I've determined that if you have two XBoxes, and have two children who want to rotate freely between the two XBoxes while also having the ability to access Game Pass on either console.....you can't.

Apparently, the "sharing" model MS has created assumes that each person in a home has their own, specific, XBox, period, and that doesn't change.