Question Discreet 5.1.2 movie setup

kyle123

Standard Member
Reaction score
We're moving into our house next week and the gaffer has given the green light for a combined lounge/home cinema with projector as long as it's discreet!

I'm getting a tab tensioned, non AT in-ceiling screen and looking for a discreet 5.1.2 set up, bookshelf won't fly and I don't want floor standing speakers on account of an inquisitive 2 year old!

This will be 80% films, 15% ps4/5 and 5% music. This is what I'm thinking:

AVR: Denon AVR-x2700h, though there are some good deals on the x3600 that I could be tempted by.
Fronts: 2 x Monitor Audio CP-WT260 and a CP-WT240LCR for the centre (the centre will sit below the projector screen and the wall will be boxed out to accommodate)
Rears: 2 x Monitor Audio Sound Frame 3 (on wall)
Height: 2 x Monitor Audio CT-CT260s
Sub: No idea

I'm by no means an audiophile and I'm very new to this, but someone who knows far more than me advised to get the best speakers I can afford (am allowed to afford) as the other bits get upgraded more often! Would be good to get some advice as to whether all this sounds like a good idea, or whether I could save some cash/spend more wisely.

Also, if none of this'll work, would be good if someone could tell me so!

Budget is about £2600(ish) including only the speakers and amp.

Much appreciated!

How large is the room with possible openings? How far will you be sitting from screen? If you have floor plan, post it here. :) Would help give better idea to everyone.

Shame to hear you can´t opt for the AT screen, it would have been the most optimal route as you can get the LCR speakers in same same height side by side using identical speakers. Hopefully the screen doesn´t drop too low and you have decent height ceiling as you don´t want to have the most active speaker in your system firing your knees too low.

Do they need to have sealed back boxes built in? There is also models with open back cheaper with better specs.