Question Do I need to change my subwoofer ?

muntos

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi,

my actual setup has a SVS SB-1000 subwoofer in a room with dimensions 16ft x 12 ft (~ 4.7m x 3.5m).
I'm considering to upgrade it to a SVS SB-2000 PRO or SVS SB-3000 but only if there is a gain in the quality of the whole movie watching experience.
I live in a flat so I don't want to go louder, shake the walls, to make things vibrate in the room, or to drive crazy the neighbors :D , for this I consider the SB-1000 more than enough.
I know that SB-2000 or SB-3000 can go much lower in frequency and also they have additional features like Parametric Equalizer, Room Gain Compensation but will I benefit from all these given my room size and the desire not to go louder but go better ?
I have little to none experience in listening various systems , so I don't know, for example, how it feels a sub that can hit only 22hz vs one that can go 17 or even lower...

Main difference is more output in the whole working range, deeper extension and what separates the 2000/3000 serie from SB1000 is also: "Roll-off slope optimized to take maximum advantage of available room gain. Expect 2-3 Hz deeper extension in small to mid-size rooms".

There is many threads on different forums about 1000 vs 2000 if you google. The latter seems to be prefered always and the difference is noticeable, but we can also assume they do push their systems good bit! In your case adding another SB1000 could be one option depending how smooth response you have now and could you place dual subwoofers optimally in your room. I have seen some professionals in the industry recommending dual subwoofers even for flats, for all size rooms cause the benefits are quite clear! Please read link below if you are not familiar: