First time avr buyer

Abbeyuk1989

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hi I'm looking at going from a Sony htx 8500 soundbar to avr I'm struggling to decide on what avr would be best I have seen Sony 1080 with wharfdale dx2 5.1 speaker package would this be big upgrade or is there better options for 700 I would add 2 atmos speakers at later date as this is my budget any other recommendation welcome and help also as this is my first time looking at avr

You cannot connect that soundbar to a receiver. You would need three passive speakers for the front to connect to the Sony 1080 receiver. A receiver with a full set of passive speakers in a 5.1.2, the 1080's maximum, would sound far better than using a soundbar. The HTX 8500 is a powered soundbar which makes connection in a 5.1.2 impossible.

I think that is what the OP is proposing. I read it as he is considering the Sony 1080 receiver with Wharfedale DX2 speakers. :)

I think that is what the OP is proposing. I read it as he is considering the Sony 1080 receiver with Wharfedale DX2 speakers. :)
My bad. Reading too quick.

As a first receiver I'd recommend the Denon X2600. Easier to set up, especially with Atmos over the Sony, better room EQ as well. The Denon set up wizard is really good.

Sorry for the confusion.

It was

As a first receiver I'd recommend the Denon X2600. Easier to set up, especially with Atmos over the Sony, better room EQ as well. The Denon set up wizard is really good.

Sorry for the confusion.
It was probably how I wrote it sorry is x2600 as good as 1080 in your OP

Better in my opinion. It could matter as the Sony has some difficulty in portraying DTS:X and Neural with speakers having to be configured differently. Something that only Sony do for reasons best known to themselves, you can find information about it in the owners' thread.

As a first time owner the Denon is very easy to set up. I'm on my fourth Denon receiver and all have proved very reliable.

Sorry for the confusion.