Help!

Jonthedrum

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hi all, newbie here and I am after some advice as I have tied myself up in knots!

Scenario and what I’d like to achieve:
I have about 400 cds.
Denon amp
Turntable ( in storage)
Md player
Cambridge audio Cd and separate DAC
Wilmslow audio Force 6 floor standers ( home built from their kit)
2 iMacs

Apple TV
iPhone
So I moved house and my living room is quite small.. the floor standing speakers are physically too big and to be honest I’ve fallen out of love with my separates.
I’d love some ideas as the best way to have access to my cd collection ( I considered buying a Brennan but decided against it as it’s just a raspberry pi in a box) possibly by using one of my reformatted macs , laboriously uploading every cd into iTunes ?! and streaming somehow to some small and sexy sonos style speakers ( but without the price tag!)
Ideally something in stereo ( 2speakers) with a sub and possibly duplicate in the dining room. I like the idea of barking commands at the home snooping amazon echo / dot ..
completely in the dark as to what’s best plan so any suggestions are welcome !
cheers
Jon

If you have a laptop, you can purchase a external hard disk drive where you can solely store them on here. Using a program (dBPowerAmp) will enable you to archive your music. Do decide on a format first. Experiment with AIFF, WAV and FLAC. If you hear no difference, then FLAC is most peoples favorite although if you're locked into apple then use AIFF.

Once you have archived your CD's (it'll be a chore for sure). When archiving, do check the details to (i.e. the wording of the CD as not all are on the database and obscure ones will require you to intervene (it is quite rare now), the other side is miscellaneous/various albums compilations. Correct these as no archiving system seems to get it just right and usually throws some songs into its own folder causing its own issues.