Question How reliable is speaker cable that was cut and prepared by a HiFi store?

LivingRoomFanatic

Novice Member
Reaction score
I’m buying some equipment and speakers soon. I was looking at getting some Chord Clearway speaker cable, and some Cambridge Audio Banana plugs. The shop said they will cut and prepare the cable for me. I’m pretty new to all this (although have done my research in other areas) and wondered if this is an easy job, or is it best to buy pre-plugged cabling? Is that even a thing? I’m just worried about spending money on a poor job.

I also wondered if pairing these particular cables and banana plugs is a good option? I appreciate that the likely answer is that it’s fine and ultimately doesn’t matter too much. Appreciate any input.

Stores usually do a good job of terminating cable but can charge handsomely for the privilege. There is really no need to spend out on expensive cables and finishing, plenty of deadbolt banana plugs that are very easy to fit yourself. If you are buying equipment from the same dealer then get him to throw in the terminated cable free of charge. I've never been refused and came away with Clearway interconnects and terminated speaker cable when I purchased my last stereo amp. If you don't ask you don't get.

Nothing wrong with these.

If you don’t get them for free then do the cables yourself as it’s quite satisfying and will take from about 15mins of your time.

As above do it your self, it's simple and quite satisfying.
Also when setting up these things they never go exactly to plan, speakers placed in a slightly different place, having to route cable in a different way etc.
Buy a wee bit extra cable just in case (and for future reorganisation)and do it yourself.

Alternatively, go down your local DIY store and yourself some cheap twin and earth cable.
A few cheap banana plugs off flea bay.
Save yourself a fortune.
And your system will still sound the same.