New OLED Owner - Pixel Refresher

GsfDan

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hello!

I am new to the AV Forums and to Oled ownership!

I have read in some sites that you should run a Pixel Refresher right after plugging the TV for the first time to improve uniformity and ´settle´ the screen. But to be honest, uniformity is great on my set. Should Pixel Refresher be done on every new TV?

Here is one of the main articles where I saw the advice to run Pixel Refresher to ´settle´ the screen (it´s in Spanish): Guía de primeros pasos para tu nueva Smart TV OLED, comprobar problemas, pixeles y uniformidad

Thank you!
Gil

Last edited:
That's poor advice, IMO. Manufacturers recommended that you don't run the longer maintenance cycle too often because doing so can artificially 'age' the panel, so why would any site recommend doing that on day one ?

If you have no issues with your set and the uniformity is great, then there's no reason to run it - just leave the TV in standby when not in use and it should run the shorter refresh cycles regularly and the longer maintenance program every 1000 hours or so, which is the frequency at which the manufacturer recommends this is run.

That's poor advice, IMO. Manufacturers recommended that you don't run the longer maintenance cycle too often because doing so can artificially 'age' the panel, so why would any site recommend doing that on day one ?

If you have no issues with your set and the uniformity is great, then there's no reason to run it - just leave the TV in standby when not in use and it should run the shorter refresh cycles regularly and the longer maintenance program every 1000 hours or so, which is the frequency at which the manufacturer recommends this is run.

Thank you for your answer, this is what I thought.