Question Panasonic vx870 4k camcorder download to hdd

Ade 7

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hi
I am totally new to camcorder video. Manual says you can download recorded video to an hdd connected directly to the camera. The camera will format the hdd to FAT32. I purchased a neeta 1tb hdd but the camera said device cannot be used? However if the camera's sd card is connected to my laptop the file can be saved and then transferred to the same hdd. Also I have an 4k action camera that runs on FAT32 but if you format a card on the action camera it comes up as check card on the camcorder? Is this a Panasonic issue?
Can anyone, ideally with same camcorder, explain this.

More likely a HDD or card issue.
For example, you are running the HDD off an independent power source? The camera will not supply power to the HDD.
Have you checked if the vx870 formatting structure is the same as the format from the 4K camera?
Is the 4K camera a Panasonic?

Some cards can cause the OS to wonder if it's correctly formatted, but just click "NO" and continue working.
I believe, for movies most folks use NTFS format, as this is supposed to overcome the "4G limit" - but it's always best to Format in the camera, so it behaves itself. Once recorded, it's easy to transfer to a PC .

I have a similar issue with "some" USB-sticks . . . always trying to Format in the PC.... under the guise the OS is "helping"- I wonder?
However, it may be a standard procedure, - just risky if the stick contains something useful, and you accidently say "YES".

Cheers.

Hi