Answered Pre-out / Line level outputs only - no power amps

WiffyWoofer

Novice Member
Reaction score
Does anyone know of a slim / compact AV processor that is pre-amp outputs only?

I seem to be struggling to find anything that ticks all the boxes. It needs to have the usual inputs and features, but no power amps, and half the size (at least) of the standard breeze blocks out there.

The closest thing I can find is the Marantz NR1609. It ticks the size and features boxes, but it only has front and sub line outs.

All of my speakers are active and I have no desire to replace them with passive speakers.

I've been making do with a Yamaha RXV777 for a few years, which has line outs for all channels, but it no longer fits in with my future plans. There isn't anywhere I can hide it out of site either, so downsizing is the preferred option.

In an age of compact lifestyle electronics like Sonos, AppleTV and paper thin TVs, why do we still need massive metal boxes to decode digital audio? It seems Marantz, Pioneer and Yamaha are the only mainstream brands breaking away from the that trend, but none of them have everything I need unfortunately.

Any suggestions?

There are processors on the market and most of the manufacturers make one or more, but they tend to be the same height as you'd expect from a full blown integrated AV receiver.

Despite you suggesting otherwise., neither Marantz, Yamaha or Pioneer make slimline processors and I think you are confusing a processor with an integrated AV receiver? Yes, they make slimline integrated AV receiver's, but their build limits them and they are less well equipped than the full sized alternatives.

Pre amp processors are usually more commonly used in conjunction with higher end setups where the owner would want the additional inputs and output options that cause higher tier products to be invariably larger than the slimline integrated receivers you mention.

This is the only AV pre amp processor Yamaha make: