Answered Seeking advice re choice of cable for long run between two amps

nickdc

Established Member
Reaction score
I'm hoping to connect the Zone2 audio output (standard rca ports) of an Arcam SR-250 to the power amp input (standard rca ports) of an Arcam A90 in a room at the other end of the house. The cable will have to be routed along the outside back wall of the house and I estimate the length of cable needed will be about 15m. I'd be grateful for advice on all or any of the following:

1. Is this a feasible project - a run that long and mainly exterior?
2. I assume the cheapest option would be to make up the cable myself, but I have limited experience and wonder if the extra cost of having the cable made professionally is worth it.
3. Recommendations for the type, brand or specs of cable I should use, trying to reasonably balance cost and quality.
4. Recommendations for the type, brand or specs of rca plugs I should use. (Assuming I make them up myself.)
5. Links or comments to help me make a good job of such a project.

Yes it is easily doable. If you are not comfortable making up the leads yourself most decent independent hifi shops should be able to make them up for you, but you can buy them of Amazon for around £20 and upwards.

If you are looking to run the cables outside I would recommend running them in 25mm round pvc conduit to add some mechanical protection. I recommend 25mm over 20mm as it will be easier to draw the plugs and cable through 25mm.

You may want to look for a well screened / shielded cable as it maybe susceptible to RFI given its length and location.

Just a thought but it might be worth asking in the classifieds to see if anyone has any long length component video cables they no longer need. I had some from pre HDMI projector days and did something similar and all seems to have worked fine. Might save you a few quid as not many people have use for them these days.