Servicing my old Denon system

JonSick

Standard Member
Reaction score
Hi

I'll admit I'm a newbie and I won't make any pretensions as to knowing what I'm talking about nor saying I have the best gear in the world. But here goes

I got my old hifi system back from my folks as I now have my new place and I want to basically get it back up and running. It's not been used in about 12 years and as it all mainly works bar a few issues, call me a sentimentalist but I'd like to service it. I have checked around for some professionals to do it for me (I'm in Hertfordshire) as I don't mind paying to do it, but the few places I've tried aren't interested and told me to buy a new one (they only service interesting old valve gear which this is not).

So what I have is the following and a quick rundown of what's up with it and what I intend to do.:

Sony PS-J20 turntable.
It's not been used in a long time and as I have a decent vinyl collection, I'm worried the needle is not the best so worried about putting my awesome vinyl on it. I am envisioning a new cartridge and belt kit, but as this was a little cheap when I bought it I don't mind just replacing this component. So open to suggestions.

Denon DRR-M31 cassette deck
The drawer mechanism doesn't open. I am confident that this is just a broken belt so going to order a new one from eBay and fit it up. Is there anything else I should do while I'm in there?

Denon CD Receiver UD-M30
It seems to play but skips a lot. I found online that it has an internal calibration function which I intend to do. The other thing is likely the lens will need cleaning. Should I just use some standard CD-based cleaner kit, or is something more specific the recommended course of action? I haven't had it open so I have no idea if I should be worrying about leaky caps. Or any other advice for general "keeping all things well" is welcome.