Question Should I have purchased a MirrorLess Camera?

bbasra

Prominent Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I’ve just bought a Canon EOS 90D Digital SLR Camera to replace my Canon 40D I bought in 2007 but left with the thought should I have upgraded to a mirrorless camera. I also purchased a Canon EF-S 10-18mm F/4.5-5.6 IS.

With my canon 40d, I own the following so thought the 90D was a no-brainer.

Canon 580 EX Speedlite
Canon EF-S Zoom 17 - 55mm IS F/2.8
Canon EF 70 - 200mm F/4L IS

I’m a casual photographer who mainly shoots family events and holidays therefore don’t upgrade\update regularly (except my phone).

I haven’t opened the box and don’t want to regret not going mirrorless. What are your thoughts?

Many thanks in advance.

Bal.

It's a difficult question to answer especially as I'm not that familiar with the current Canon models. I don't think we're at the point where a mirrorless camera is the only choice and there's still some advantage to going with a DSLR.

One of the main advantages for me with mirrorless cameras is video since you can use the viewfinder whereas on a DSLR you need to use the rear screen, you can also use the more accurate AF on the main sensor through the viewfinder as well. Mirrorless camera bodies are usually smaller but it's not always an advantage since it can mean poorer handling with bigger lenses. Mirrorless cameras seem to be more often offering higher burst rates but they're at the point already where for many people the higher speeds aren't frequently that useful. My current camera does 20, 10 and 5fps with the 20fps being very appealing but most of the time I just use 5fps as I find that does the job and 20fps quickly generates an insane amount of images to deal with.

On the downside mirrorless cameras are usually weaker on batterylife than DSLRs although it's an area they've improved on and they can usually be easily recharged through USB. Lens ranges aren't as good but also an area they've been improving on significantly.