Question Speed ‘glitches’ on Clearaudio Performance DC - Help!

DT79

Distinguished Member
Reaction score
I’ve started experiencing a weird and concerning issue in the last few days and was hoping for some pointers.

I’m using the above turntable with an aftermarket upgraded power supply from MCRU (I know, I know, but the supplied wall wart was just so cheap it became an itch I just had to scratch and in fact I am convinced that the pitch stability has been better with the MCRU PS - until now...)

I’ve been using this new PS for several months and not had any issues up until now.

In maybe the last week every now an again I’ve noticed the pitch will go funny (i.e. the platter seems to slow down for a second or two and then return to normal). It’s done it maybe once per listening session over the past few days.

Within the past few weeks I’ve tweaked a number of things which I don’t think can be connected, but I’ll list them anyway in case they trigger a thought in anyone more knowledgeable than me:
- Adjusted the platter speed setting slightly as I realised it was playing a touch slow (this is achieved via an adjustment screw on the back)
- Made iterative adjustments to VTA (and therefore VTF) to experiment with getting the best sound (settled on a slightly raised VTA)
- Realised that while I had it set-up temporarily for a few weeks while decorating our lounge that I’d connected the MC transformer and phono pre-amp in the wrong order (I.e. TT > phono pre > MC transformer > amp) It was like that for maybe 3 weeks. It didn’t sound as good and the noise floor was higher which at the time I put down the fact that the TT was on the top of the rack and not its wall shelf, and consequently I didn’t play it very much. Everything seemed fine and back to normal once reassembled properly and on the wall shelf in the lounge so I concluded no harm done.