Question Yamaha RX-A3080 5.1.4 ATMOS setup

ATMOS7

Established Member
Reaction score
I am a newbie to ATMOS and will be getting my first ATMOS AVR next week. I am getting a Yamaha RX-A3080 9.2 channel receiver with additional rear presence channel that requires external amp. I have been reviewing the user manual and it appears that in order to do a 5.1.4 ATMOS setup, you have to use the rear presence channel with an external amp. Else it looks like you can do 7.1.2 without the external amp and not 5.1.4. The user manual is little confusing and shows the same description for sound for 7.1.2 and 5.1.4. Any help is appreciated.

If its a 9 channel reciever with built in 9 channels of amplification, you will be good to go for either configuration mate. 5.1.4 or 7.1.2.

I am a newbie to ATMOS and will be getting my first ATMOS AVR next week. I am getting a Yamaha RX-A3080 9.2 channel receiver with additional rear presence channel that requires external amp. I have been reviewing the user manual and it appears that in order to do a 5.1.4 ATMOS setup, you have to use the rear presence channel with an external amp. Else it looks like you can do 7.1.2 without the external amp and not 5.1.4. The user manual is little confusing and shows the same description for sound for 7.1.2 and 5.1.4. Any help is appreciated.
yea 9 channel amp will do 5 1 4 out of the box,owners thread here Yamaha RX-A3080 Owners Thread

Those who've not actually got this receiver or haven't actually configured one within a 5.1.4 setup should avoid ensuring others that it is actually possible to have a 5.1.4 setup withput using an external 2 channel amp. THe manual suggests that you can have a 9 channel 7.1.2 setup without an external amp, but does suggest that such an amp is needed to power rear presence speakers in a 5.1.4 setup.