Complete novice!

avjon

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all. I have been reading as much as I can about streaming/NAS/media centres and have a couple of questions.

At the moment I have a Pioneer NC50DAB which I use with Spotify/Amazon Prime, etc and also itunes streamed from my PC using itunes remote.
My CDs have all been ripped as ALAC to my PC and they work fine over the network in the house (Sky Q wifi).
This means however. that I have to keep the PC on 24/7 if I wish to access my itunes library.
I was looking at getting a NAS so that I am able to use that to store my music and so not have to worry about the PC being kept on and any potential issues when I come to change/upgrade it.

I am confused though by a couple of things:
1) Can you move the itunes library to a NAS and use it as a standalone music collection for streaming to a receiver?
2)Does the NAS have to be physically attached to the router or is it used solely over wifi?
3) If I rip any new CDs (I know, very noughties!) how do I get the new rip to the NAS?

Any help/advice on suitable NAS would be most welcome as I am getting myself completely confued with the sheer amount of info available online about this.
Thanks in advance.

if its iTunes managed, it can be a pain, ive done this on a Mac before now, where you move the music directory to the NAS, then tell iTunes where the new music directory is.

The NAS should be attached to the router, ive not seen a WiFI NAS (having said that ive never looked) - the throughput will be much better having the NAS on a wired connection.

If you rip the CD's on the PC that your iTunes library is on, the PC in the above step will know that your iTunes library is remote to the PC, and the rips will end up on the NAS.

the biggest pain is if the drive mapping breaks, or doesn't establish when you reboot your PC or the NAS, or if you loose network connectivity.