Should she be hot?

Benscotz

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, newbie here, I just picked up an old technics ah-eh760 on gumtree. Wired it all up miles of speaker cable, never had these tri wiring speakers before. Anyway it all seems to work nicely the cd player jumps pretty easily if you knock it but my concern is the amplifier seems pretty warm on the top which I think is fine but I lifted it up to move it a bit and underneath in one corner it seems very very hot. I can leave my finger on it for a while but it's damn hot. Is this normal?
Many thanks ben

If you can keep your finger on it,it is not to hot. .. But what level of ventilation have you around it.

I've just got it out on a table at the moment so should have plenty of ventilation, it's now getting to hot to touch in that area, I'm probably going to take the top off and have a look at what components are in that area

Amps can have hot spots, depending on where the transformers are positioned. As above ventilation is crucial. There is probably a safety cut off built in, I certainly had one in my old 1990s Technic amp.

Well popped the top off, and that little thing there is what is causing the very hot part, around the transformer is just warm

Attachments

• DSC_0261.JPG
    DSC_0261.JPG
    2.1 MB · Views: 102
Looks like a heatsink for the output transistors. The idea is the transistors are very firmly attached to a metal surface which will dissipate the heat away from the transistors. A paste and a thin plastic washer is normally electrically insulating the transistor from the heatsink. If the paste has broken down then the transistors will run very hot. This could be your problem. It's not a big job to put right by someone who knows what they are doing.

Hope this helps.

Thanks everyone for your comments, I've took the heatsink off and dosnt appear to be any sign of thermal paste ever being used, can see the dust around where the transistors sit.