Technics SL-1500C Turntable Review & Comments

I grew up wishing I could afford a couple of SL12's but things change. Still I still love the idea of them and because of that I don't like this turntable at all, especially the way it looks. It's not classic, it's frumpy!. If I was still into all of this I would have a couple of SL12's for work/play and maybe a Rega for listening.

Mostly irrelevant I know, but that's how strongly I'm tied to this range.

Last edited by a moderator:
Thanks for the review, Ed. It's come at a perfect time as I'm "kicking the tyres" on this deck.

I've been using a 1960's Lenco with a Linn basik arm for the last ten years, which I've liked very much. But I've recently wanted a set and forget deck.

I'm currently playing with a Audio Technica LP5 with an Audio Technica AT-VM95ML with the HS6 headshell and am extremely impressed with sound quality and with it's ability to track spot on until the end of the record. Something my Lenco struggled with (no doubt down to my set up of it and cart/stylus). I'm running the LP5 through a Rega Fono MKIII.

But the LP5 feels a bit cheap and I wanted the ease of use of the LP5 with something with a bit more quality.

Would using my Audio Technica AT-VM95ML on the Technics be better than the 2M Red? I'm personally very impressed with the AT.

How would the Rega Fono compare to the built in phono stage of the Technics?

Any thoughts here would be much appreciated.

Does every piece of HiFi equipment have to have a 9 rating?

Wouldn't it be better and more informative if something that was average amongst it's piers received a 5, not forgetting that it's statistically impossible for everything to be above average ;)